top of page

1 Year to Go

Exactly 7 months ago, on November 4th, I received the call that I was accepted to be a part of the 2016 Texas 4000 for Cancer team. I can still remember that phone call, as my current big, Monica (shoutout to her as she's on her ride!) gave me the amazing news. That weekend, I met my teammates at our first picnic, where we all shared our excitement and apprehension.

But the real fun started the next semester when we started having weekly team meetings, volunteer events, and began our fundraising. I learned more about my teammates and why they rode every single week and volunteer events were a lot of fun, not only because we get to help out in the community and spread the word about Texas 4000, but also because thats when we got to spend quality time with the rest of our team and hear about how the local community has been affected by cancer. In February we learned all about fundraising do's and don'ts and were sent on our merry way to start fundraising. I started by posting on social media and sending emails, and followed up by sending letters. I have been very fortunate and blessed by my donors who have already helped me reach $3635, which is less than $1000 from my personal goal of $4500.

Today, on June 4th, 2015, my team is exactly a year away from our departure date. That is insane. Just a few days ago the 2015 team left from Austin and are all on their way to Alaska. I can still think back to applying to Texas 4000 last September, and now we're almost in our ride year. I am so excited to see what this next year holds. I can't wait to get to know more of my teammates, preference and be assigned my ride route, get my bike (!!!), and begin training, as well as continue volunteering and fundraising. I know its not going to be an easy year and I know there will be several times when I'll question my sanity and strength, but it is worth the fight, because those touched by cancer, whether it is someone who is actually has cancer, a family member, a friend, or a caretaker, are fighting a much bigger battle. If I can touch even one person's life during this journey, I know I've done my job.

IMG_2201-2.JPG

Tags:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page